Sep 12

Spent the weekend absorbing Gift of Gab’s new album, Finding Inspiration Somehow. It is filled with his struggles and so much wisdom and love. Find digitally here, hard copies available for pre-order on Nature Sounds’ site and Bandcamp.

Tagged with:
Dec 27

Lyrics Born joins Blackalicious for a few year-end shows.

Dec 28 The Fillmore, SF
Dec 30 Nectar Lounge, Seattle
Dec 31 Star Theater, Portland


Tagged with:
Oct 24

latryx1Another sneak peek from Latyrx The Second Album…this one featuring their compadre Gift of Gab.  “Watershed Moment” prod by tUnE-yArDs

Tagged with:
Sep 03


Latyrx is back.  Lateef & LB just rocked the stage together yesterday at Hiero Day, and have revealed the Brent Rollins-designed album cover and track listing for their second album.  Dropping November 5, 2013.

01 Arrival [prod. by Jel of Anticon]
02 It’s Time [feat. Zion I, prod. by Amp Live]
03 Reload [prod. by Jel of Anticon]
04 Exclamation Point [feat. Forrest Day, prod. by Forrest Day]
05 Deliberate Jibberish [prod. by tUnE-yArDs]
06 Close Your Eyes [feat. Busdriver, prod. by Antonionian]
07 Nebula’s Eye [feat. 1-O.A.K. & Joyo Velarde, prod. by G-Koop & O-Man]
08 The Power of Rumor (Leonard Is Lost) [prod. by Adam Theis and Lyrics Born]
09 Watershed Moment [feat. The Gift of Gab of Blackalicious, prod. by tUnE-yArDs]
10 Sometimes Why? [prod. by Chris Funk of The Decemberists]
11 Every Man For Himself [feat. Joyo Velarde, prod. by Future People]
12 Electric Chair [feat. Corey Glover of Living Colour, prod. by Kaveh Rastegar & Jeremy Ruzumna]
13 Gorgeous Spirits (Aye, Let’s Go!) [prod. by The Bangerz]

You can get a taste by checking out the Disconnection EP here.

Pics from Hiero Day are on their FB page (our camera battery died by the time they went on!)

@latyrx @lyricsborn @truthspeakerHQ

Tagged with:
Feb 27

New video from Gift of Gab featuring Latryx (song also features George Clinton) from Next Logical Progression@realgiftofgab @latyrx

Tagged with:
Feb 14

New video for the Latyrx song “Gorgeous Spirits”.  The guys are also on the road:


14 St Louis, MO – The Pageant
15 Lawrence, KS – Liberty Hall
17 Denver, CO Ogden Theatre
19 Salt Lake City, UT – The Depot
20 Sun Valley, ID (Headlining)
21 Boise, ID – The Reef (Headlining)
22 Seattle, WA – Showbox
23 Portland, OR – Crystal Ballroom
27 CA, Solana Beach – Belly Up
28 CA, Los Angeles – El Rey


01 San Francisco,CA – The Fillmore
02 San Francisco, CA – The Fillmore
03 Santa Ana, CA – Yost Theater

Tagged with:
Mar 08



Live from the Control Room Session Two featuring Lateef and producer PoetiqBeetz.  Filmed by  Casual (Hieroglyphics Rap God), this session and track titled, “Code Red Emergency” were recorded at the SAE San Francisco campus by SAE students (for more info:

The video and track are the result of the “Live from the Control Room” Beat Battle which took place late 2011 at 330 Ritch in San Francisco.   The song will be featured on the Live from the Control Room EP  where the winning producers,  Cache, Poetiq Beetz, Lambo Got Em’ and Ion the Prize provide the backdrops and the Bay’s finest hold down the rhymes.  Other featured emcees will be A-Plus from Souls/Hiero, Moe Green, and DaVinci.

Directed and Shot by Casual
Edited by Roy Miles
Recorded at SAE San Francisco

Tagged with:
Dec 23

‘Tis the season to  hear Lateef’s voice in a commercial.  New Christmas song that Blackalicious cooked up for Target.  It just sounds like Lateef & maybe Jumbo are handling the vocals on this one.  I think Gab is absent from this track…

Free download of the song here.

Tagged with:
Oct 15

New video for the first single from Lyrics Born’s new album, As U Were.   “Lies x 3” premiered today on

Tagged with:
Jun 15

I was like, “Really?”

Gab says:

Yo, Any up and coming artists want to get me on a song for a reasonable price, get at me at

Tagged with: